ASHRAE Technical Committee 2.8 - Building Environmental Impacts and Sustainability


Welcome to the home page of ASHRAE Technical Committee 2.8 - Building Environmental Impacts and Sustainability

TC 2.8 is concerned with the impacts of buildings on the local, regional and global environment; means for identifying and reducing these impacts; and enhancing ASHRAE member awareness of the impacts. The impacts of concern affect long term sustainability of our environment and the quality of life for current and future generations. These building impacts include, but are not limited to, biological and mineral resource depletion; environmental impacts of energy production, conversion, delivery and use; availability of future energy resources; pollution of air, water, and soil; and encroachment on sensitive habitats and ecosystems.

Committee Meetings:

TC 2.8 meets twice each year, once at ASHRAE's Winter Conference and again at ASHRAE's Annual Conference. The next meeting of TC 2.8 will be in Atlanta, GA on Sunday June 28, 2015. The full technical committee will meet from 5:00 to 7:00 PM at the Atlanta Hilton Room Salon AB (2nd floor).

The following subcommittees will meet at the Atlanta Meeting in Room 315.

International Subcommittee:                 Sunday, 11:30 PM to 12:00 PM.
Green Guide Subcommittee:               Sunday, 12:00 PM to 12:45 PM.
Water-Energy Nexus:                        Sunday, 12:45 PM to 1:15 PM.
Research Subcommittee:                    Sunday, 1:15 PM to 2:30 PM.
Handbook Subcommittee:                   Sunday, 2:30 PM to 3:35 PM.
Programs Subcommittee:                    Sunday, 3:35 PM to 4:00 PM.
Existing Buildings Subcommittee:        Sunday, 4:00 PM to 4:30 PM.

Visitors are welcome at all Committee and Subcommittee meetings.

Future Meetings:

ASHRAE Winter Conference 2016
Orlando, FL
January 23-27, 2016

ASHRAE Annual Conference 2016
St. Louis, MO
June 25-29, 2016

ASHRAE Winter Conference 2017

Do you want to get involved in your TCs issues at the Society level? If so, read through the pages of this site, attend a meeting, or contact our Committee Chair.

Committee Chair: Dunstan Macauley,